Welcome to the Governors’ section!




The Governing Body


The Governing Board works in partnership with the Headteacher to provide leadership, to promote high standards and secure the best possible education for every child in school. We are supported by the Diocese and the LEA, as we work to deliver our mission statement,

‘I can do all things because Christ gives me strength’


While the Headteacher is responsible for the day to day management of the school, Governors have an important strategic role, with specific responsibilities in three core areas:

  • Setting the school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils.
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure that money is well spent.

As a Church of England Voluntary Aided Primary School, our governing board has 12 members and is made up as follows:

  • Parent Governors: 2
  • Headteacher: 1
  • Staff Governor: 1
  • Local Authority Governor: 1
  • Foundation: 6 ( appointed by Blackburn Diocese, with 3 nominated by Principal Officiating Minister and 3 by the Parochial Church Council – 1 vacant at present)
  • Ex-official 1 (vacant at present)

The full Governing Board meets four times a year and has three working committees, which meet once each term to consider various aspects of the school in detail.

Current Governing Body


NamePositionCategoryElected / Re-electedEnd DateSubjectDeclaration of InterestDate interest was registeredAppointed By
Mrs J HeatonChair of GovernorsFoundation Governor30.03.202130.04.2024SFVS / PHSE / Staff Development & WellbeingNothing to declare12.09.2020PCC Charnock Richard
Mr M PritchardVice ChairFoundation Governor09.09.201908.09.2023New Governor MentorSt Michael's School Governor16.09.2020PCC Charnock Richard
Mrs H BrooksHead TeacherHead Teacher01.09.2014PresentNothing to declare16.09.2020Ex-official
Mr P KewleyTeacher RepresentativeStaff Governor01.11.201931.10.2023Nothing to declare31.03.2020
Mrs J BennettGovernorFoundation Governor01.04.202031.03.2024Child Protection & MathsNothing to declare16.09.2020Principle Officiating Minister
Mrs V HodkinsonGovernorFoundation Governor20.02.202019.02.2024Nothing to declare21.09.2020Principle Officiating Minister
Mrs E BuckleParent GovernorParent Governor11.04.201810.04.2022SEN&D / English / New Governor MentorNothing to declare29.09.2020Elected
Mr K RobertshawParent GovernorParent Governor30.10.201929.10.2023Blended LearningNothing to declare17.09.2020Elected
Mr A LockGovernorFoundation Governor09.02.202108.02.2025Principle Officiating Minister
Mrs A MacsariGovernorFoundation Governor22.04.202121.04.2025Nothing to declare22.04.2021PCC Charnock Richard
Ms T BartonClerk to GovernorsClerk to GovernorsCooper Barton Ltd- Director / National Governance Association - Consultant12.10.2020
Mr C MeadowsGovernorLocal Authority Governor04.07.201825.05.2021SFVS / Online SafetyNothing to declare25.09.2020LCC
Mr P FlemmingGovernorFoundation Governor23.01.201722.01.2021PCC Charnock Richard
error: Content is protected !!